Race For The Cure Recap

Happy Monday! I can still say that cuz there are still a few hours left. :p

Over the weekend, I ran in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. My friend, Erica, was planning to run in honor of her aunt who is fighting breast cancer for the 3rd time. When she asked if I wanted to run the 5k with her my answer was, “of course!” Run with a friend, for a good cause, in PINK?? Oh, I’m totally there!

Last week I realized that I hadn’t run since my half marathon in June, so I figured I should probably log a few miles before the race on Sunday. I headed out on Tuesday and Thursday to tackle the hills in my neighborhood and it was rough! I get plenty of cardio teaching Cardio30 twice a week, but cycling is WAY different than running. Phew! Fortunately, my dad gave me a few Pocket Fuel energy shots.

IMG_3766.JPG

I gave the Chocolate Espresso a try on my first run of the week.

IMG_6898.JPG
It was really tasty! Definitely needed to wash it down with some water, but I loved the flavor (I love peanut butter and I love chocolate, so it was a match made in heaven). I still died on my run, but I had more energy than I would have had I run fuel-less.

I took the Chia Goji and Honey flavor for the race on Sunday, but I didn’t end up using any fuel for the run. I had breakfast and a coffee before the run, so I didn’t really feel like I needed any. The thing I love about races is the energy is so contagious and it’s fun to feed off of.

Erica and I drove up with our sweet hubbies and arrived with about 5 minutes ’til start time. We jumped right into the starting crowd as they gave the signal to start.

IMG_7010.JPG
We started off at a pretty steady pace and the whole run went really smooth…. Aside from when I almost ate pavement around mile 2. The run went through downtown Portland, so we passed the time looking at all the tall buildings and pointing out places we’d like to come back and visit. Erica pointed out a really cool old hotel, so I looked up to see the top and my sunglasses fell off. When I ducked back to grab them I tripped and almost face planted. There was a very concerned group of cheerleaders on the sidelines gasping as I hurtled towards the very hard earth. Fortunately, years of Centergy has honed my balance and I caught myself before blood was shed. I hopped up and waved my sunglasses at the concerned cheerleaders and we were on our way.

IMG_7021.JPG
We crossed the finish line in 37:22, then made our way to the race expo to gather some freebies from sponsor tables (you know that’s why I run races). :p

IMG_7030.JPG
(Photo courtesy of Erica.)

It was a beautiful day for a run and a great way to start my Sunday. I tend to go in waves with running. I run for weeks, then I get burnt out and don’t run for months… Which really sucks cuz then all the stamina I built up dies and I have to rebuild it. Anywho, I think I caught the bug again and I’m looking forward to the Color Vibe 5k in a few weeks and the Poplar Run at the end of October! Still trying to decide if I’ll do the 10k or the 15k for the Poplar Run but, let’s be real, I’ll prob spring for the 15k. Go big or go home, am I right??

What about you? Do you run consistently or go in cycles?

How was your weekend?

What’d you do?

Do you have any races coming up?

Leave a Reply

