Friday Favorites 8/22

Happy Friday, everyone!!

Man, I was ready for Friday this week. I don’t know why, I mean, it was a good week. I think I’m just super excited for tomorrow, so that made the week drag. Why am I excited for tomorrow, you ask? Because my friend, Erica and I are going to a Barre workout in the park in Portland! Barre3, a studio in Portland, is celebrating their 6 year anniversary with a Barre3 In The Park event. I’ve been wanting to try a barre workout for awhile now, but our gym doesn’t offer it so I haven’t had a chance. To be honest, I’m not entirely sure what barre is, but I think it has a Pilates-esque feel with a focus on flexibility, strength and balance. It just seems like it would be something I’d like. πŸ™‚ I’ll have a more complete and accurate description after I attend the event.

If you’re in the Portland area, you should come! It’s free! πŸ™‚ Their Facebook page has all the details.

Now, for one of the reasons I look forward to Fridays (besides the fact that it’s Friday, duh), this week’s edition of Friday Favorites!! As always, thanks to the lovely Heather over at Housewife Glamour for the linkup!!

IMG_5525.JPG

JIF Salted Caramel Hazelnut Spread

IMG_6589.JPG

My mom bought me a jar of this spread because she thought I might like it (can’t imagine why). JIF + chocolate = Whit’s happy place. This stuff is delicious! Seriously, I’ve been guilty of eating it by the spoonfuls all week, and I’ve even caught Brandon with a spoon in it a time or ten. It was really yummy on toast and I’d like to try it on pancakes too, but I’m all out. (Mom, are you reading this? I need a refill! … Totally kidding.)

PGroup Workouts

IMG_6617.JPG

It’s no secret that I love group exercise. I wouldn’t teach it if I didn’t. I love it because it’s so much more fun and motivating to workout with other people. I’m way less likely to quit if there are others in the room and I love that we can push one another and feed off of each other’s energy. This week at work, we hosted an group workout event. It was a fun run/obstacle course-like event. We started with a dunk tank. For each time we missed dunking the person in the tank, we had to do a burpee. Then we ran uphill 2 miles through a neighborhood to another challenge where we had to roll dice to see how many weighted squats we had to do. We ended at a local restaurant and bar where we had to do keg presses with empty beer kegs, then walking lunges while holding a slosh pipe. Phew! After that, we were rewarded with food and beer! It was cool to see our gym and the local restaurant come together to put on an active event with healthy food (minus the beer). The photo is of me and my team doing the event as part of a fitness challenge we have at the gym.

Pranks

IMG_6625.JPG

I have a water bottle that says “fitness” in big letters in the front. This week, one of my sneaky coworkers decided to change the “fitness” to “fatness.” The sad part is that I didn’t even notice until the next day!

Chocolate Shop Chocolate Sparkling Wine

IMG_6585.JPG

Brandon brought this home the other day and, I gotta say, I was a little hesitant. I’m not a huge red wine fan and I’ve had chocolate wines before that aren’t all they’re cracked up to be. This stuff, though, was fantastic!!! We poured ourselves each a glass and then took the rest over to our neighbor’s house one night. We shared it with them while we all watched some satellites. Our neighbor has an app that tracks satellites in the sky and they were supposed to be bright that night. I’m not much of a star (or satellite) gazer, but it was nice to sit out and enjoy the evening, wine and good company.

Well, those are my faves from the week! Your turn!

Tell me some of your favorite things about your week!

What are you looking forward to this weekend?

Has anyone done a barre workout?

6 thoughts on “Friday Favorites 8/22

    • Whitney says:

      Yes, Portland’s gorgeous! I’m excited to workout outside in the beautiful weather. Thanks for providing the link up! Friday Favorites is probably my fave link up. πŸ™‚

  1. Renee Winters says:

    Haha, glad I could indulge your happy little chocolate habit. Your request has been received and you shall have a new jar before the weekend it over.

Leave a Reply

