4th of July Festivities!

We started our 4th of July in the most patriotic way possible – watching Germany and France duke it out in the World Cup. I’m really not the least bit interested in soccer, but when I told Brandon watching the World Cup wasn’t my idea of a good time he replied, “I watch you run for over 2 hours last weekend and that’s not my idea of a good time.” Touché. Sometimes we do things we don’t necessarily want to do just because we love our spouse.

We met some friends and family at a local coffee shop, order breakfast and coffee and cheered on Germany…or was it France? I don’t really know as I was actually on Pinterest most of the time. Hey! I was present – that’s what counts!

In the evening, we had friends and family over to watch fireworks from our unfinished upstairs windows. We have a terrific view out over the river where the city sets off fireworks. 20140705-104655-38815307.jpg No traffic, no fighting for parking, no putting your lawn chair out at 8 o’clock in the morning to reserve your seating…you’re welcome, everyone! 

Brandon wanted to clean the house up a bit before everyone came over, so he spent the day vacuuming up construction dust, clearing out our rooms upstairs, and generally making the place look as presentable as possible. Meanwhile, I cleaned our downstairs, got some food together, picked up tables and an ice chest from my mom and made some last minute decorations.

20140705-150404-54244463.jpg
Aren’t these lanterns adorable!? I pinned the directions on Pinterest (while I was “watching” soccer), then did some crafting at my mom’s house. I got battery-operated tea lights from the Dollar Tree so I wouldn’t have to worry about Lucy getting into them or someone accidentally knocking one over.

Pinterest had so much inspiration that I might have went a little overboard on the red, white, and blue theme:

20140705-103324-38004894.jpg

Strawberries and blueberries – Mmmm!!

20140705-103406-38046180.jpg

I made a punch with Lemon Lime soda and White Cranberry juice. To keep it cool, I poured a little of each into muffin tins, dropped a few blueberries and a strawberry slice in each, and froze them to make giant ice cubes.

Since my house was all festive, I had to make myself festive too! Thursday night, I painted my nails red and white…unfortunately, I painted them right before heading off to yoga with my friend, Erica, and I smudged them on my way out the front door. Grrr!!! Possibly one of the most frustrating things – painstakingly painting your nails, impatiently waiting for them to try, then messing them up because you didn’t wait long enough.

20140705-103522-38122874.jpg

After yoga, Erica and I went shopping to get some 4th of July gear. I got the bracelets in the nail photo above on sale at Old Navy and the tank top in the photo below also on sale and also at Old Navy – you can find the top here

20140705-103606-38166392.jpg

I swiped this goody of us and our hubbies from Erica’s Instagram. Thanks, E!

Erica got this summery hat…which she left at my house. I sent her this pic to let her know that it’s now mine. Muhaha

20140705-103648-38208151.jpg

Anywho… Brandon and I decided to have people over to celebrate the 4th since we have such an incredible view of the fireworks.

Even though the house is unfinished, I figured the 4th is one holiday where people expect to bring lawn chairs and sort of picnic while watching the show so I told everyone to bring their lawn chairs and we set up some ice chests full of drinks and some folding tables for the food. 

20140705-104028-38428294.jpg

20140705-103732-38252963.jpg

20140705-103732-38252632.jpg

Boy, we had a ton of food! The photo is just what my MIL and I put out – everyone brought something to contribute and we had a feast!

20140705-150209-54129477.jpg
It was so much fun to finally be able to host a holiday! I really enjoyed cleaning the house, getting tables and decor together, planning food and drinks and welcoming everyone into our home. Everyone spread out between the master bedroom and the spare bedroom upstairs to get the best views of the fireworks. We have a deck off our spare bedroom that some took blankets and chairs out to as well.

20140705-103812-38292908.jpg

Cute

friends! (Instagram)

Not only could we see all the fireworks over the river, but we could also see pretty much every illegal firework in Salem! :p It was quite the show! I hope you all got to spend some time with family and friends, enjoy some good food, and celebrate the freedom that we’re blessed with in this country!

What did you do to celebrate the 4th of July?

What are your plans for the rest of the weekend? Brandon’s birthday is on Monday, so we’re having a BBQ with family Sunday afternoon.

4 thoughts on “4th of July Festivities!

  1. Jan says:

    I think I’d rather watch 2 hours of soccer (couch!!) than watch someone run. Of course I’d rather be running myself than doing either of those things! You are right, the things we do for love! LOL Love all of your red white & blue things!

  2. ldh4492 says:

    Wow it looks like you had a great weekend!! All that food makes me hungry.. 🙂 I totally agree with you about the nails… There is nothing more frustrating than completing the perfect manicure and then smudging it…

    • Whitney says:

      Right?? All that time blowing on your nails and waving your hands around like a maniac and having them STILL smudge is just depressing. :p

Leave a Reply

