Pacific Crest Half Marathon Recap 2014

Happy Tuesday!

Almost all the soreness from my half marathon on Saturday has worn off by now. It took a little longer than I expected because I taught 3 group ex classes yesterday. Yes, I said 3 – my own Cardio30 class, I subbed a Group Centergy class, then I subbed another Cardio30 class. It was kinda nice to work and stretch those sore muscles but, whew, I was ready for a break by today.

You’re probably ready for me to stop whining and recap the Pacific Crest half marathon already, huh? πŸ˜‰ First, let me start off by saying that it was about a billion times better than last year! I suppose that’s what happens when you train, huh? Go figure.

2014-06-27 20.44.39

 

(Instagram)

To start, the weather was beautiful. It was predicted to be a high of 73 degrees on the day of the race and the morning was perfect. Dad and I arrived about 10 minutes before the race started and ended up near the front of the pack.

2014-06-28 07.54.16

Pre-race selfie!

Once we started, I lost Dad almost immediately. I think part of my problem last year was that I started out too fast, so this year I made a point to pace myself. That meant that I didn’t stay with my speedy daddio for too long.

Mile 6 is when I knew it was going to be a good race. Almost halfway through and I felt fresh as a daisy…okay, not quite. But I did feel pretty good. Yeah, I was a bit tired, but I felt like I could keep going and I didn’t need any walking breaks. At mile 6 last year, I wondered if I’d even be able to finish. I was feeling so great this year that I texted my mom and hubby this pic…

2014-06-28 09.08.11

Yeah, I look a little crazy. It was the excitement and disbelief that I felt this good halfway through that made me look like a sweaty lunatic. Whatever..I’ll take it.

I was smart this year and brought my own gels along with me. I took one roughly every 3 miles, then replenished my stash at mile 9 where the Clif Shots station was. I’m not the least bit ashamed that I started with 3 gels (all of which I used) and finished with 5. For a $70 registration fee, I’m taking all the freebies I can get!

I did start to slow around mile 8. My side started cramping up and I was losing steam. A few breaks to stretch my calves and hamstrings helped, but I did end up walking a bit. I was encouraged, though, when I kept thinking of how I felt at each point of the course last year. I’d run pass the river and think, “Right here last year I wanted to lie down and die,” or, “When I passed the golf course last year, I seriously questioned whether I’d be able to finish.” There were times I just couldn’t stop smiling because it felt so good to not feel horrible! The view was amazing, which also helped pass the time and distract me.

2014-06-28 09.41.34

2014-06-28 09.11.06

2014-06-28 09.51.25

I gave myself a little break around mile 12 because I wanted to finish strong. By the time I saw the sign that said it was 500 meters to the finish line, I was ready to kick it into gear and shoot across that finish line!

2014-06-28 20.48.16

This is a text I got a few hours after the race. Pretty sweet that they text you your results! It also broke down exactly where I placed in my age range, for women in general, and overall. 2 hours and 37 minutes, not too shabby for finishing in 3 hours and 15 minutes last year. I was pretty pleased that I knocked over 30 minutes off my time. πŸ™‚ Though I’m also slightly embarrassed that it didΒ take me +3 hours to finish last year, but I’m choosing to focus on the positives!Β 

2014-06-29 07.32.53

Once I crossed the finish line and received my massive race medal (seriously, it’s huge), I headed for the food because, well it’s free food..’nough said.

2014-06-28 11.06.54

2014-06-28 10.57.36

These little chia pods were pretty sweet. The little cups they came in are reusable and that orange thing on top is a spoon. It was basically like a little chia pudding and they came in different flavors. I grabbed a vanilla, but they also had banana, mango, and berry.

2014-06-28 11.05.17

Of course, I had to take a pic with my daddio post-race. He finished in 2 hours and 1 minute, 10 minutes faster than last year!! He rocked it!

After finishing our post-race treats, we walked over to the starting line and took a few pics in front of the race arch.

2014-06-28 11.20.39-1

(Instagram)

2014-06-28 11.22.32-1

My beautiful mama with my daddio.

2014-06-28 11.23.00-1

My cheerleader

When we got back to the house, I snatched up my trusty foam roller to give my muscles a little love. While I was on the ground rollin’ like a boss, my mama gave me this…

2014-06-28 20.51.28

“I’m only half crazy.” Ehhhh, probably closer to 3/4’s but whatevs.Β Overall, the race was awesome and the weekend was entirely too short. We came home on Sunday evening and I laid in bed that night researching the next half marathon in Sunriver…okay, now officially fully crazy. :p Who knows if that motivation will stick, but there isΒ the Marathon for a Cause at the end of August. Mayyyybe I’ll sign up for the half or maybe I’ll be more sane and stick with a 10k. We’ll see. πŸ˜‰

Did you do anything fun this last weekend?

What was the last race you ran?

2 thoughts on “Pacific Crest Half Marathon Recap 2014

Leave a Reply

