Half Marathon Prep And Playlist

The Pacific Crest Half Marathon is in less than 2 weeks!! I’m getting pretty excited for it! Not so much for the running 13.1 miles, but more for getting it done and redeeming myself from last year. I still didn’t follow a training plan to the T, but I feel much better prepared for this half than I did for the first one I ran… And it’s not supposed to be 80 degrees, so that will help a ton.

I was reading a post by Janae over at Hungry Runner Girl and she had posted her playlist for a marathon she ran recently, which inspired me to create a playlist for my upcoming half. I also stole a few of her songs since she has such good taste in music. Thanks, Janae!!

Before sitting down to make a playlist, I had to get a little snack. Can’t think on an empty stomach, ya know. I made a super yummy smoothie!!

20140619-161335-58415998.jpg

1 banana
1 scoop Drink Click Vanilla Latte Protein powder
1 scoop Drink Click Caramel Protein powder
1/2 cup vanilla Greek yogurt
1/2 cup soy milk
1 t. chia seeds
1 t. ground flaxseed

It was pretty tasty!! I didn’t have any ice cubes (emptied the tray for my iced chai yesterday and forgot to refill it. Oops!) and I didn’t wanna drink it lukewarm, so I put it in the freezer for a few minutes to chill it. Turns out, it was in there just long enough for the chia seeds to plump up and get all jelly too! It was kinda like drinking coffee-flavored tapioca!

Once I had a little something to sip on, I was ready to get started on my playlist. Here’s what I ended up with:

Back In Time – Pitbull
Can’t Hold Us – Macklemore ft. Ray Dalton
Dark Horse – Katy Perry ft. Juicy J
Happy – Pharrell Williams
I Can Transform Ya – Chris Brown
Live Like We’re Dying – Kris Allen
Timber – Pitbull ft. Ke$ha
Toxic – Britney Spears
Diane Young – Vampire Weekend
Club Can’t Handle Me – Flo Rida ft. David Guetta
Next To Me – Emeli Sandi
Counting Stars – OneRepublic

Music is a huge motivator for me when I workout. Having a good beat or great lyrics can really push me when I want to slow down. I’m gonna have to give the playlist a test drive tonight. I have about a week of workouts left before I need to rest up for race day, so I’m planning a few more runs in addition to the classes I teach next week. I’ll run tonight, shooting for at least 4 miles, depends on how hot it is and how motivated I am (evenings aren’t my fave time to work out). Tomorrow, I’m planning around 7 miles, Saturday I teach Group Centergy, Sunday I’ll take off, Monday I teach Cardio30, Tuesday I’ll run again, Wednesday is Cardio30 and Group Centergy, and I’m not sure yet whether to take Thursday off or to go for a short run. I might wait and see how my body feels. If nothing else, I might either just go for a walk or do some yoga.

Linking up with Katie’s Healthy Habits linkup!

20140619-163615-59775396.jpg

What are some of your favorite running songs? Anything I need to add to my playlist?

How do you usually prepare for a race the week before?

How’s your Thursday going??

Leave a Reply

