A Morning Run And Gardening (Yes, Me Gardening)

So, guess what?? I’ve actually been training for my half marathon! (Go figure)

Friday evening, I ran 5 miles around 8pm. It was such a beautiful evening! The combination of beautiful weather, some Vega Sport Pre-Workout Engergizer, and general Friday night energy made for a great run! It was one of my best times for my 5 mile runs and I felt pumped afterwards. 

 

 IMG_5355

This morning, I was so stuffed up from allergies that I woke up before 7am. After laying in bed, trying to breathe for almost an hour, I decided to just get up and head out on a run. It was a gorgeous Sunday morning and I added an extra mile, making 6 miles, my furthest run for my half marathon prep so far. 

 

IMG_5362

The time was, by far, my best time yet during this half marathon training and it gave me confidence that I can be prepared for this half marathon and can rock it! Ah! SUCH a good feeling! 

Since I got my run done early today, I had the rest of the day to chill and get ready for the week. After church and lunch with my mom and bro, Coby, I ran some errands. My first stop was Natural Grocers. The Vega Sport Pre-Workout Engergizer that I was given to try has been a godsend during my training (you can read my review of the product here) and I was hoarding the last few packets for closer to race day. Then something amazing happened – I found Vega Sport at Natural Grocers!!! Yes!! I snapped up 2 packets of the Lemon Lime flavor just to try it. Really, I could have ordered some more online if I really needed to use the last of my stash before the race, but it’s nice to know I can just drive to the store and stock up here in town.

 

IMG_5368

 

My next stop was Walmart. The selection of plants in the parking lot called to me before I even entered the store. Now, you need to know, I am NOT a outdoorsy person. I do NOT like dirt or bugs. But the gardening bug bit me today and I bought 2 day lilies (ahhh my faves!!!), a beautiful red lily and a bit of potting soil. My mom had given me some petunias for my birthday that I’ve been meaning to replant in a half wine barrel that I have, and she also gave me a huge bag of potting soil. When I got home, I rolled up my sleeves and go my hands dirty (haha…um, that’s totally not true. I wore gloves. Dirt = ick). I have to say, when I stood back to admire my handiwork, I was pretty satisfied. 

 

IMG_5363

That teeeeeeny tiny little yellow guy will soon (hopefully) be my beautiful day lily!! The other one I bought is on the left side of the flag.

IMG_5365

Lillies!!!!! They are seriously my faves!!! LOVE the deep, beautiful red color!

IMG_5367

The petunias that my mom gave me. Sadly, they’re looking quite pitiful. I’m hoping that getting them out of the small pot they were in and giving them some room to breathe will perk them up. Fingers crossed.

Now, I’m sitting in my sweat (ew, I know. Brandon shut the water off to work on the house), watching “Say Yes to the Dress” and trying to decide what to make for dinner. I feel like since I gardened, I shouldn’t have to make dinner. One domestic activity is enough for the day, right?? Okay, maybe not. I’ll come up with something. 

 

What was the highlight of your weekend?

Anyone else plant some fun things in their yard this year?

Leave a Reply

