Saturdays Are For Muffins!!

I love getting up on the weekends and baking something yummy for breakfast. Usually, I end up making pancakes, but I also love muffins. This morning, I had to work, so I didn’t get to make anything tasty. I did, however, make some flourless peanut butter chocolate chip muffins earlier this week that I can’t stop dreaming about.

Image

These little muffins are amazing! I found the recipe for these Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Blender Muffins on Averie Cooks blog. You can get the recipe here. (You really should go to her page to check them out – her pics are way yummier looking than mine.)They were so tasty that I definitely pinned the recipe to make again later! The recipe has you blend the ingredients in a blender, then add the chocolate chips before pouring into muffin tins. I really enjoyed that part because I’m lazy and don’t like mixing things by hand. However, don’t do what I did and, in your rush to get the muffins into the oven so you can eat them sooner, forget to add the chocolate chips. I peeked in on them halfway through baking and something didn’t look right…no, the muffins looked tasty, just …it seemed like they were missing something…hmmm.. oh yeah! Chocolate chips!! You better believe I wasn’t about to eat them without chocolate, so I sprinkled the chips on the top and let them melt a bit for a nice chocolate topping.

I made the muffins Sunday night to take with me to my mom’s house on Monday for our weekly Dancing With The Stars viewing party (let’s all just take a moment to mourn the ending of the season – may the fall season come quickly!). I won’t embarrass her by saying how many she ate (not many, I promise), but she enjoyed them just as much as I did. Brandon, on the other hand, said they were just okay…he likes muffins better with flour. He ate plenty of them, so they couldn’t have been that bad. :p

I think I might make them again this weekend. Maybe for a yummy Sunday brunch. I’d like to go to church tonight, so that I have time in the morning to go for a run (something I’ve actually been doing semi-regularly *gasp*) and make something tasty for breakfast. Monday, I teach Cardio30 twice in the morning (I picked up someone else’s class who’s going to be out of town for the weekend), but other than that I have the day off.

What are your plans for Memorial Weekend?

Is anyone running a race this weekend? My dad just finished an 8k in 37:31 – 2nd in his age bracket.

 

 

Leave a Reply

