Marriage Monday

Happy Monday, everyone!!

Something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately is time management in my marriage.

 

 

Image

 

 

It’s super easy to commit to something small here and there – dinner with a friend, subbing a class at work, volunteering a few days a week – then all of the sudden, POOF, my schedule is crammed full and I have no idea where all my free time went. This has been happening a lot lately with both Brandon and I. Our weeks are super busy, then we get together Friday night, just long enough to say, “hey, honey, how’s your week been?” maybe grab some dinner, and go to bed. The next morning, we wake up to a weekend filled with work, house remodel stuff, and family get-togethers and the same thing happens Sunday night – “hey, honey, how was your weekend?” and bed time. Just to wake up and do it all over again the next week.

It’s difficult to find a balance because all the things we’re spending our time doing are good things! I want to be able to help out a coworker when they need a class subbed, spend an evening catching up with a friend over drinks, or spend the day with my family celebrating whatever holiday is over the weekend (is it just me, or has there been a holiday/birthday/wedding every weekend lately??). But in the busyness of life, quality time with my husband gets put on the back burner. I live with him, I can see him anytime, right?? Well, yes, but that’s not quality time. It’s not intentional time connecting with him and really focusing on just him.

When I got on Facebook this morning (yes, I’m guilty of hopping on FB pretty much first thing in the morning), I saw an article that I knew I needed to read, called Making Time For Your Spouse, posted on the Authentic Intimacy website. You can (and should ;p ) read it here.

 

Photo: It seems like you ladies are pretty busy! How do you make time for your spouse with jobs, responsibilities, & to do lists? Read Juli's thoughts on our blog. http://goo.gl/b2ZmKe

 

Authentic Intimacy is an organization that offers advice and resources for women on how to build intimacy in your marriage. They have dozens of wonderful articles. This particular one was exactly what I needed today. It contains 3 great steps on how to make time with your spouse a priority. One of those steps is to commit to a date night. Brandon and I tentatively reserve Friday nights for dates. We don’t always do something fancy; sometimes we just order a pizza and rent a movie from Redbox. Other times, we try a new restaurant in town. Nothing crazy – just spending time together. Lately, we haven’t been as consistent with those dates and I think it’s time to get back into that routine. Even Brandon mentioned that we need to plan a date soon since we haven’t spent quality time together lately. 

So, this Friday, we’re going to spend the day together! I don’t know yet what we’ll do. We talked about going wine tasting, going to the beach for the day, or driving up to Portland and going to Ikea (yes, that counts as a date :p ). It doesn’t really matter what we do, the point is that we’ll be spending intentional time together, just the two of us, creating memories. I’m kinda excited, actually. Like, back to the first few weeks of dating wondering where we’re going to go and what we’re going to do excited. 

 

Image

 

This pic is from when we first started dating, over 6 years ago. Brandon came over to my house and we made french toast together.

 

My goal for this week is to focus intentionally on my marriage. It’s so easy to let life get out of control and think that I’ll have time for Brandon later. Our marriage is so much richer and our relationship so much more fun when we make each other a priority. 

 

How do you make time for your marriage?

Any fun date night ideas? We went to the grocery store together yesterday – not exactly a date, but it was more fun than going by myself! Cooking together is always fun too. 

3 thoughts on “Marriage Monday

  1. thenarcissistwrites says:

    You guys are so cute! I still like going clubbing on dates, but you guys seem like you wouldn’t be quite so into that 😛

    • Whitney says:

      Aw thanks! 🙂 No, we’re not much into clubbing, but we do like to find a cool bar and hang out. And I’d secretly (not so secretly anymore) like to go to a karaoke bar sometime!

Leave a Reply

