Girls On The Run And My Friday Run

I was going to post this yesterday, but I was having technical difficulties. Is it just me, or is an iPad not all that user-friendly? Prob just me. :p

Yesterday was Girls On The Run practice 5k. I had my fingers crossed for a nice sunny but not too hot day for my girlies…. Buuuuuut, since this is Oregon, it was not to be. It rained during our entire run. You know what, though? Those girls didn’t complain once. As a matter of fact, they found the biggest, muddiest puddle and did a celebratory jump each time they completed a lap. Each one of my girls completed at least a 5k, some of them did more, and all without once complaining. I was so proud of them!! At the end of practice, I gave them each a pair of #sweatpink shoelaces to celebrate their accomplishment. They loved them!! A HUGE thanks to Fit Approach for the shoelaces – they brought huge smiles to each girl’s face! 

Image

Like the girls, I was drenched after practice. Unlike the girls, I was freezing because I hadn’t been running. So, I stopped to get a hot chai tea on my way home.

photo (6)

When I woke up yesterday morning it was still raining. I had planned to run but I reallllllllly didn’t want to. I put it off by doing things around the house, but my house has stressed me out so much lately that it  just made me irritated. With the remodel, it’s been so hard to  keep the house clean and I started getting frustrated that I couldn’t keep things organized. That’s when I knew it needed to go run, if for no other reason than to keep my sanity and stop sweating the small stuff. So, I laced up my hot pink shoelaces and headed out into the drizzle. I figured, if my GOTR girlies can run in the rain without complaining, I could too! It actually wasn’t so bad … when I was done. :p 

photo (5)

What do you do to motivate yourself to run when you don’t want to?

Do you like running in the rain? I hate the treadmill, so I’ll put up with the rain if that’s my only other option.

Anyone else a Girls On The Run coach? Or have kiddos in GOTR? Those little ladies are rockstars!!

5 thoughts on “Girls On The Run And My Friday Run

  1. happylifehealthylife says:

    When I don’t feel like running I remind myself of how good I’ll feel after and of the delicious post-run smoothie that will be waiting for me 😉 Living in Vancouver I’m used to rain, so it doesn’t really phase me during a run.

    That Girls On The Run program looks SO cool! How often do you get to meet with them?

    • Whitney says:

      I love the suggestion of thinking about the post-run smoothie! Great motivator!! Girls on the Run is awesome! We meet twice a week for ten week. Each practice has a lesson (on bullying, gossip, self-confidence, etc), a warm up and stengthening exercises, then they run laps. The season ends with a celebratory 5k race. It’s a lot of fun. 🙂

      • happylifehealthylife says:

        That sounds awesome! It’s so important to educate girls about those things, especially in these days. I volunteered with Big Sisters last year and mentored a program called Go Girls; it was similar in that we spent time talking about issues that girls deal with in high school and we taught them about healthy eating and exercise. It was a lot of fun!

      • Whitney says:

        I totally agree! Some of the things we talk about, even I need to hear! Yesterday, we discussed how advertising can make us feel like we’re not enough and we need to buy whatever product or look like whatever model to be beautiful, and it really hit home for me. I haven’t heard of Go Girls before. It sounds like a great program!

Leave a Reply

