Group Exercise Practice and Half Marathon Training (Or Not Training)

I’m supposed to be training for a half marathon, but life has been so busy this month!! We have Launch at work (4 times a year, we launchΒ new music in all of our group exercise classes), so I’ve been busy learning new routines for Cardio30 and Group Centergy (PS it’s way more time consuming to learn 2 group ex formats than it is to learn 1 – go figure!).Β 

20140425-150201.jpg

Yesterday, I had an hour between when I got off work and when I had to leave for Girls on the Run practice, so I spent that hour practicing my Centergy routine. I just found out that I get my own class in May!!! Well, sort of my own. It’ll be 2 days a week and I’ll teach one day and another instructor will teach the other day. I’m super excited because 1) I LOVE Centergy and this means I get to do it more and 2) doing it consistently will help me learn it better and become a better instructor.

20140425-150023.jpg

Since I was busy with work and group ex practice all week, I was planning to run this morning for my half marathon training. Instead, I got called in to work because one of my coworkers is sick. I don’t mind working, really, but now I’m all showered with my hair and make up done and I don’t want to run after work because I’ll mess it up. Anyone else have that problem??? If I don’t work out in the AM, it’s really hard to make myself workout at all because I don’t want to have to redo my make up and hair. I know, I know #firstworldproblems. Maybe I’ll run this evening, and then it won’t matter if I’m all gross. C’mon, guys, help me out! I need some motivation! I suppose I could just think back to my last half marathon and that’d be motivation enough. Life got busy and training slacked (sound familiar??) and it was a horrible experience! The whole reason I want to do this half marathon is to redeem myself from the last one! So, I’m determined to train for this one! …Right after Launch is over. :p

Any good tips for balancing life and race training? Pass them on! I could sure use them!

4 thoughts on “Group Exercise Practice and Half Marathon Training (Or Not Training)

  1. hungryandfit says:

    Before the week starts, I schedule every single workout for the week into my phone. Cardio, strength, whatever. I set a time, day, and activity. Helps for me to stick to it

    • Whitney says:

      That’s a great idea! Sometimes I kinda sorta do that in my head, but because it’s in my head and not on paper I don’t always stick to it. Maybe for this period of half marathon training I’ll write it down so I have a better chance to sticking with it. Thanks for the tip!

    • Whitney says:

      Michele, yes!! I actually managed to make myself get out and pound the pavement for 3 miles after writing this, but overall, I’m way more likely to workout if I do it first thing in the morning! Plus, it just starts my day off with so much more energy!

Leave a Reply

