Weekend Recap and Healthy Cookie Recipe

Happy Monday!!

I love starting my week by teaching Cardio30. It gets me out of bed and into the gym, and sets a great tone for the week! Now that I’m done, I’m enjoying an early-afternoon cup of coffee and catching up on my blog before work.

Before I get too far into the week, I’ll recap the weekend. Friday, I ran 4 miles. It wasn’t fun and it wasn’t pretty, but I did it. Shamrock Run, I’m comin’ for you! With the 15k only 13 days away, I’m really trying to work the hills in my neighborhood to prepare for the 4 1/2 mile uphill part of the Shamrock. I hear that when you get to the top and see the view of Portland as the sun comes up, it’s all worth it. We’ll see. ;p At least the last 2 miles are downhill.

Brandon and I were quite the social butterflies this weekend. Friday night, we went out with a couple friend of ours to bar in McMinnville. We split a huge order of Cajun tater tots and enjoyed some beer. Saturday, we drove up to Vancouver with another set of friends to eat at Joe’s Crab Shack. We ordered 5 appetizers and split them all between us. Sunday, after church, I went out for pizza with my parents, and Sunday night Brandon and I went to see the Lego Movie. Whew! We don’t usually do that much in a month, let alone in 1 weekend. Okay, probably a slight exaggeration, but we really are more homebody’s than social butterflies…I am, anyways. Brandon just stays home to keep me company. πŸ™‚ It was a lot of fun, though.

As you can see, we ate a ton of junk over the weekend; the only downside to going out. My goal for this week is to focus back in on eating clean and limiting the fried and processed junk. I have a huge sweet tooth, though, and was craving cookies yesterday. I knew I hadn’t eaten well all weekend and really didn’t want to add to that, so I made a healthier cookie-type snack that satisfied my sweet tooth without adding a bunch ofΒ unnecessary sugarΒ and fat. Basically, I made No Bake Energy BitesΒ from Chef in Training, but with some variations. The original recipe is pinned on my Pinterest page, but I kinda just used it for inspiration and did my own thing.

Image

This is what I ended up using:

1 c. Old Fashioned Oats

1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder

1/2 t. cinnamon

1 T chia seeds

1/3 c. Peanut Butter

2 t. agave

1 t vanilla

3/4 c. mixed dark chocolate chips and cinnamon chips.

Water to hold the mixture together

Image

Β 

I mixed it all in a big bowl. I really just added the cinnamon chips because I had them on hand. They’re great with just dark chocolate chips too.

Image

Once mixed, I formed them into balls and put them in an airtight container in the refrigerator to harden. Voila! Taste just like cookies, but without all the bad stuff! They’re actually rather filling too because they have oats, peanut butter and protein powder. I like to eat them as a little afternoon snack to keep my energy up until dinner time. Speaking of dinner, I need to go pack a dinner to take to work tonight.Β 

Have a great week!

Is anyone else running in the Shamrock Run? Which distance?

Any other healthy treat recipes I need to try? Please share!

Leave a Reply

