Coffee and Me: A Beautiful Friendship

I love coffee. It’s no secret. I will gladly admit my devotion to the strong, caffeinated brew. And, I think it’s safe to say, coffee loves me back. It warms my insides; fills me with energy and life; and comforts me on cold, rainy days or just when I’m feeling down. We’re buds, coffee and I.

photo (5)

(Instagram)

Most people accept our relationship, and are supportive even. There’s only one who doesn’t approve of my relationship with coffee – my bank account. Yep, my bank account cringes every time coffee and I meet up. Now, I really like my bank account too, and I don’t want to do anything to cause it to turn on me.

For awhile, I was consistently making coffee at home and buying a latte at a coffee shop was a once or twice a week treat. Then I got a Dutch Brothers gift card….and after that, a Starbucks gift card. I’m not one of those people who gets a gift card and thinks, “Oh, that’s great,” and just goes about their life as normal, driving through a coffee shop occasionally and remembering, “Oh ya, I have a gift card!” No, I get a gift card and go, “Must. Spend. Now!” And drive through a coffee shop on the way to work each day of the week. So, now I’m in the habit of driving through to get coffee almost everyday and I’m out of gift cards. *tear* Reality has settled in – I can’t afford to keep buying coffee on the way to work, but neither am I satisfied by my plain Keurig coffee from home anymore.

That’s why I came up with this solution: making my own coffee at home! I still get to spend time with my coffee and my bank account isn’t quite as miffed when I do. Yesterday, I tried making a latte at home with my Keurig, some Almond Milk, and some flavored syrup I had leftover from my days as a barista.

photo (6)

I brewed 8oz. of regular coffee in my Keurig, heated up 1/3 cup of Almond Milk in the microwave, and mixed those with 1 T sugar free vanilla syrup. Then I sprinkled the top with cinnamon. Ta da! Homemade latte! I used an electronic little stir-y  stick (I’m pretty sure that’s not the technical term) to make the top foamy because, duh, that’s the best part of a latte. It was a tad on the sweet side so I’d use a little less syrup next time, but overall it was really good!

I still didn’t get the satisfaction of driving through a coffee shop which, weirdly, is part of the appeal, but I’m just gonna need to get over that. My latte tasted just as good as anything I would buy AND I got a few extra minutes at home before I had to leave for work since I wouldn’t be driving through anywhere on my way there. Win!

Anybody else have good at-home latte recipes?? I have some pumpkin syrup, so I’ll play around with that as well, but I’d love some more suggestions!

Leave a Reply

