Homemade Luna Bars…Oh My!!

I love bars…not the drinking kind, the snacking kind. Granola bars, Cliff bars, Luna bars, Kind bars, etc. They’re a quick snack that I can keep in my purse or desk at work to eat when I just need a little pick me up. My favorite favorite favorite bars are Luna bars. I LOVE the Chocolate Peppermint Stick flavor the very best, but in a pinch, I’ll buy the White Chocolate Macadamia or the Nuts Over Chocolate.

Over the weekend, I came across a recipe for homemade Luna bars here. What??? Yes, homemade Luna bars. Chocolate Covered Katie has some amazing looking healthier chocolate recipes…and her blog is called Chocolate Covered Katie – Too Cute! Naturally, I had to make these bars as soon as possible. photo (8)

They were AH-mazing!!! So crunchy and chocolatey!! Now, Katie’s pictures are WAY better than mine, so you should head over to her blog for more appetizing looking photos. Also, you might want to read the full directions before making them. I’m notorious for skimming through a recipe and making things without fully understanding the directions. Then they don’t turn out the way they’re supposed to and I can’t figure out why (duh, Whit, because you didn’t read the directions). The recipe says to mush the rice crispy mixture super super well before freezing it…which I did not. It also says to spread the chocolate on the bars before freezing…which I also did not. Soooooo I put my bars in the freezer for 30 minutes like the recipe says, THEN spread the chocolate and had to wait another 30 minutes to eat my goodies. I recommend following the directions (duh). 

photo (9)I took my “Luna Bars” to a meeting at work and they were a big hit. They’re like rice crispy treats, only WAY better. I would have gladly eaten the whole pan…which is why I had to take them to work to get them out of the house.

 

Leave a Reply

