Cheers to 50 Years!!

On Sunday, we celebrated my grandparent’s 50th wedding anniversary.

photo (9)

 

When we realized that their 50th was coming up, my mom wanted to do something special for them. My grandparents aren’t super into being the center of attention, and any time we have a family get together my grandma does a lot of the work. We didn’t want them to try to talk us out of planning a celebration and we sure didn’t want them to have to do any of the work, so naturally, we planned a surprise party. My mom spent a lot of time brainstorming a time and a place, who to invite, what to cook, how to decorate… all the things that go into a great party. In the end, we decided the best place to have it would be at my grandparent’s house (they have a great backyard for entertaining). But how to get them out of the house long enough for us to clean, decorate, and bring in the food?? Fortunately, my grandpa’s brother and his wife were kind enough to take my grandparent’s out for breakfast to get them out of the house. My mom, her brother, and I waited stealthily around the block from their house until their car pulled out of the neighborhood. As soon as the coast was clear, we pulled our cars up to the house, unloaded all our party supplies and got to work.

photo (10)

My grandma had suspected some sort of surprise to take place, so the house was already fairly clean when we arrived. :p We put up the decorations that we had brought and set up a cute drink station and games in the yard and food on the patio.

photo (12)

 

photo (13)

photo (14)

 

photo (11)

We had pulled pork sandwiches, an assortment of fruits and veggies, a delicious coffee drink, sparkling cider, and, of course, CAKE!! It was so much fun to hang out with family and celebrate my grandparents.

Of course, getting the family together meant taking family photos!

photo photo (15)

Grandma and Grandpa are the first couple on my mom’s side of the family to make it to their 50 year anniversary. I think that’s so special! Today is there actual anniversary. Wishing you many more years, grandma and grandpa! I love you guys!!

Leave a Reply

