Hammers and Saws

The hammers never cease around here. Walls are going up and it’s starting to look like an actual house.

Whitney's Photos 288

 

Whitney's Photos 300

Whitney's Photos 305

 

Whitney's Photos 279

 

 

Team work at it’s finest.

Speaking of team work, it’s official – Grandpa is part of the “Fahlman Construction” team.

Whitney's Photos 311

My father-in-law is a licensed contractor and all his sons have worked with him at some point. He had t-shirts made a few years ago, and brought one for Grandpa.

Whitney's Photos 312

 

Even I got one! I’m technically a Fahlman so they had to give me one, even if they most work I’ve done is sweep and pick up pieces of broken glass and roofing material.

There is rain in the forecast for later in the week, so the guys are working hard to get a top on the house. I seriously doubt in will actually rain, but in Oregon you never know. While the guys have been working their tails off to get the house up, I’ve been working my tail off trying to come up with ways to feed them. Boys eat a lot!! I think I’ve been to the grocery store every day this week. Meal planning and cooking is not my strong suit, but I’m thinking I need to start practicing because the least I can do for my non-paid workers is make sure they’re fed. Any ideas for filling, inexpensive meals that the guys can eat on the job? I’ve stocked up on Gatorade because it’s been super hot this summer and I don’t want anyone passing out on the job. Seriously, Gatorade should sponsor our project. :p

Whitney's Photos 304

 

Whitney's Photos 303

Whitney's Photos 318

The only problem with the remodel is how dusty it makes my house. I vacuum off my kitchen table and bed everyday – no joke. My sweet father-in-law came in the house yesterday and said, “Boy, it’s dusty in here.” The sarcasm was out of my mouth before I could stop it, “Yup, can’t imagine why.” He was genuinely confused, “Is that from us??” Haha I didn’t have the heart to tell him that yes, it was, and I had already vacuumed once that day and it was still dusty. Oh well, small price to pay. I’ll vacuum every day for as long as it takes to get my house finished.

Leave a Reply

