Pacific Crest Half Marathon Experience

After my last post about how nervous and ill-prepared I felt for my first half marathon, you’d think I’d be anxious to jump back on my blog and tell you all about how it went! Yeeeeeah, so it’s been almost 2 weeks and I haven’t posted about my half marathon. Or posted at all, for that matter. I’ve been busy with work, the 4th of July and birthdays…but those are excuses, so I’ll just get on with half marathon fun.

Image

Image

Fun? Did I say fun?? It was brutal!! Remember how I worried that I hadn’t been training as I should the last few weeks before the race and I was afraid it’d be really hard? Those fears were definitely valid. 

My first concern was the weather. It was predicted to be 85 and sunny on the day of the run. Beautiful weather for pool lounging, but not so great for running. Last year, the weather for the Pacific Crest was rainy and about 50 degrees. I like running when it’s cold because I don’t like being overly hot and running warms me up just enough so that I’m not cold. When I saw 80 degrees in the forecast, I got a little nervous, but I figured if I just paced myself and kept hydrated I’d be okay. 

The first 3 miles were great! I felt awesome and the pace felt good. Then I heard my Map My Fitness app call out my pace and I realized that I was going at a really fast pace for me. So I tried so slow down to conserve some energy for the second half of the race. Unfortunately, when you’re already slow, slowing down even more basically means walking. I was okay with that as long as it meant I could finish the race strong.

Image

 

Strong?? By mile 9 I was just hoping I’d finish at all! The heat and lack of training caught up with me and every step was painful. At the beginning of the run, I was sweating buckets and by just a little over halfway through I stopped sweating at all…pretty sure that’s not good.

I will say that it was much more pleasurable to run because the scenery was so beautiful. The course was partially along the river.

Image

Isn’t it gorgous!? It was nice to have something pretty to look at to distract me from how painful each step was.

When I finally finished, a little over 3 hours later, I was felt relieved..and tired..and terrible.Image

I even looked like I felt like crap.

I was so glad I did it and it felt great to accomplish something I had been wanting to do, even if it was hard. That almost makes it even more satisfying – knowing that I did what I set out to do, even though it wasn’t easy.

 

2 thoughts on “Pacific Crest Half Marathon Experience

Leave a Reply

