Half Marathon Jitters

I’m running my first ever half marathon on Saturday – the Pacific Crest Half Marathon in Sunriver, Oregon. I chose this race because I LOVE Sunriver. It’s my home away from home; my happy place. I figured that if I’m going to run 13.1 miles, I want to do it somewhere I love; somewhere that energizes and invigorates me, and that is absolutely gorgeous to look at. 

Last year, I ran the Pacific Crest 5k and my dad ran the 10k. 2 years ago, my brother ran the half marathon. This race has become a sort of family tradition. This year, my dad is running the half marathon with me and my mom is running her first ever 5k. I love challenging myself and reaching new goals, and watching my family do the same. 

ImageDad and I before the Pacific Crest last year.

Image

Dad and I after our races. Muscle Milk comped our entry last year and is graciously doing so again this year. They are a great sponsor of the Pacific Crest events. Thanks Muscle Milk!!!

I’m actually kinda nervous for the half marathon. I feel ill-prepared. The month of June was supposed to be the month I buckled down and got serious about increasing my mileage and fueling for the race, but it was such a busy month that it passed in a flash and before I knew it, the race was a week away. Don’t get me wrong, all the busyness in June has brought good things. I completed my training to teach Group Ride and have been practicing constantly for that (I’m fortunate that cycling is great cross-training for running!), we had a family reunion and then family in town for a week after that, and I picked up more hours at work which we definitely needed. I wouldn’t have traded any of that for more training time, but I would feel a lot more comfortable about this event if I felt better prepared. 

The nice thing is, I’m not running for a specific time or to beat anyone. I’m running for myself – because I can. Because I never pictured myself being a runner, and definitely not running a distance like 13.1 miles. I’m running because I want to challenge myself and prove to myself that I can do it. I’m running because, well, why not? And let’s be honest, we all know I do it for the t-shirt and the free food at the end.

It’s my first half marathon, so I’m guaranteed a PR, right?? That’s something to look forward to. :p I’m trying to get out of the mindset of, “oh my gosh, I got so busy I forgot to train!” I want to go into this race knowing that I am more fit and stronger than I have ever been in my life and I CAN do this. I’ve never considered myself an athlete, but for this weekend I am going pretend I am one and run my heart out. It’s fine if I have to walk a bit and it’s fine if I’m slow, I will win just by crossing the finishing line.Image

After the Pacific Crest 5k last year.

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon Jitters

Leave a Reply

