Cardio Makes Me Hungry for Muffins!

Today started with 16 miles on the bike in Group Ride. I’ve been on the bike a lot lately since I finished up my Group Ride training 2 weeks ago. Fortunately, spinning is great crossing training for my half marathon prep, otherwise I’d spend half my life working out. Between training for my half marathon at the end of the month and trying to learn all my new Ride material, I’m getting a real cardio behind-kickin’ and it’s making me extra hungry!

I was craving some pastries hard core this morning, so I decided to make some muffins. I have a package of Pamela’s Baking and Pancake Mix and I searched the internet for recipes with ingredients I have on hand because I just couldn’t wait long enough to go to the grocery store – I wanted muffins NOW! I found a recipe for Blackberry Vanilla Almond Muffins on the Pamela’s website. They looked sooooo tasty and I just happened to have all the ingredients the recipe called for….well, mostly. It called for 1/3 cup of applesauce but I didn’t have any, so I mashed up a banana instead.  (Sidenote: if you don’t want banana flavored muffins, I wouldn’t recommend this substitution.) The recipe also called for 1/2 cup of blanched slivered almonds and I didn’t have those either so I subbed oven roasted almonds from a salad topping package I had. :p They were a little salty, so I didn’t put quite a half cup in because I wasn’t sure how that’d affect the taste?? What can I say, I’m the queen of substitutions. I guesstimate, eyeball, and just toss a little of this and that in. Sometimes it works, other times it flops. Image

This time, I’m happy to say that it worked! Or…it might have, if I hadn’t misread one little part of the recipe. The recipe called for 1/3 cup of melted butter. As you can see, I have 1/3 cup of butter out and ready to melt in the microwave. It seemed like a lot of butter to me, but what do I know? So I melted it and mixed it in the batter. No bigs, right? Check it out – they came out beautifully! And I made them in my heart-shaped muffin pan because things shaped like hearts taste better (it’s a fact).Image

I bit into one and mmm….butter?? Seriously, they were realllllly buttery. So, um, ya the recipe said 1/3 melted butter, not 1/3 cup butter, melted..which is how I read it. Whoopsies!  They would have been good had I made them right, so I’m not gonna write this recipe off. Next time, I’ll make it correctly and let you know how it turns out. (Mom, I was gonna save you one, but you don’t want it..trust me.) 

Sidenote: Priscilla Ahn Pandora Radio is perfect cloudy-day lazy-morning baking music. Priscilla, Jack Johnson, Sara Bareilles, Howie Day, mmm! Perfect!

Oh! And I made Strawberry freezer jam with the strawberries I picked on Friday! It actually turned out and it was surprisingly simple to make. For some reason, I thought it’d be hard.Image

2 thoughts on “Cardio Makes Me Hungry for Muffins!

    • Whitney says:

      Right?? I’ve never seen a recipe written another way, but this was waaaaay too much butter! My muffin pan wouldn’t have even needed to be greased; the muffins slid right out. I put one on a plate and when I picked it up there was a pile of grease on the plate.

Leave a Reply

