Busting Out of a Workout Rut

I was kind of in a funk over the weekend and didn’t feel like working out AT ALL, so I took a bit of a break. The funk lasted through Monday and Tuesday too, so I sat on my backside for 4 days! It was heavenly, actually. My body needed the break. I’ve been working out 6 days a week for awhile now and pushing myself as I train for my half marathon. Today, I woke up refreshed and ready to hit the gym hard!Β 

I was doubly excited to go to the gym because I got a new workout tank and couldn’t wait to wear it! Last weekend, I went shopping with my friend, Cassie, and found this super cute bright orange tank for $10!! Can you believe it?? It was normally $20. I LOVE a good deal!

Image

Something about cute clothes motivates me to work out more. If I could, I’d have a new outfit for every workout. Sadly, I don’t think Brandon would go for that. *sigh*

I was all set to bust out 5 miles on the treadmill (yes, I had to resort to running on a treadmill – In true Oregon fashion, our 70 degree, sunny weather changed back to 50’s and rainy pretty quick). I forgot, though, that unless you use a different setting, the treadmill stops at 3.1 miles and automatically switches to cool down mode. So, I ran through my cool down and ended at 3.5 miles. I finished up the last mile and a half on the elliptical. I finished up with some stretching, then went home and did Tone It Up’s Santorini Bikini (that’s really fun to say) routine to add some toning to my workout.Β 

ImageDoes anyone else every get in a workout rut? How do you pull yourself out of it? Sometimes I look at inspirational sayings and posts on Pinterest or on one of the several fitness and healthy living people I follow on Twitter, like Blogilates, Tone It Up, and SkinnyRunner. Seeing other people’s progress and excitement revs me up to hit it hard when I get to the gym. Also, cute workout clothes…mostly cute workout clothes. Oooh! Or treating myself after a workout with a fun drink, like Sobe Lifewater or coconut water. I’m a sucker for treats.

On a completely different note, Brandon sent me this picture of some kittens that were at a house he showed today.Β Image

Aren’t they cuuuuuuuute??? If he doesn’t bring me one home, we’re gonna have some serious problems.

Leave a Reply

