Half Marathon Training and What Guys Really Notice About Girls

I started my Saturday by running 3 miles. I won’t tell you my time, because it’s not that impressive. My half marathon is a mere 9 weeks away, so I really need to start increasing my milage and speeding up a little bit. I’ve heard that doing intervals really helps you get faster and go farther and I think the easiest way to do that would be on a treadmill…but it’s just tooooo nice out to run inside!!!! This is Oregon, though, and it’s supposed to rain next week, so maybe I’ll try those intervals then. I need to do something to kick me into gear because I’ve kinda hit a plateau. 

After my run, I came home and ate a few Blueberry Zest Muffins that I made last night. Image

Aren’t they cute??? I made them in heart-shaped muffin tins! I got the recipe from the Tone It Up website, but I made a few tweaks. I substituted whole wheat flour for coconut flour because I’m cheap and didn’t want to buy coconut flour when I already had whole wheat flour at home, and I subbed vanilla for lemon juice because I’m not real crazy about lemon. I also sprinkled a few chopped walnuts on top for crunch. They were sooooo yummy!!!

My dad’s home this weekend, so I decided to spend the day at my parent’s house so that I can spend time with him. I love it when my dad comes home because, well, he’s my dad and I love to see him…but also because he brings treats!! Dad works for Pepsi and gets cases of expired drinks! (Seriously, does soda ever really expire??) My fave drink is Sobe Life Water.ImageThis one is Black Cherry Dragonfruit flavor. It’s one of my favorites…I also really like the Yumberry Pomegranate because it’s pink and I like to say “Yumberry.”

Anyways, back to my dad being home… As a girl, sometimes I wonder how much guys really notice about how much effort we put into our appearance. Do they notice when we pluck our eyebrows or file our nails? I mean, sure they’ll notice if you’re eyebrows look like they could pass for caterpillars, but do they notice those 2 or 3 hairs outside of your perfectly waxed arch? I didn’t really think guys would notice or care about those little things, but today something happened that made me question whether maybe they care about the little things more than I originally thought. I was just sitting on my parent’s kitchen counter minding my own business and swinging my legs back and forth while talking to my dad and Brandon. All of the sudden they gang up on me and start making fun of my chipped toenail polish! Seriously?? I didn’t even think a guy would notice! Yeah, my toenails are chipping pretty badly and need to be repainted; I even threw some nail polish in my purse so I could redo my nails today at my parent’s, but that doesn’t mean I’m letting myself go like Dad implied. “Yep, the first year of marriage, they start letting their nail polish chip…Next year she’ll stop shaving her legs. No need to impress anyone now that she’s married.” I may have gotten a little prickly during the week because it was a busy week, but I DID shave my legs this morning, thank you very much! Meanwhile, my mom is sitting on the couch quietly minding her own business and keeping her chipped toenails tucked out of site. Thanks for the solidarity, Mom. 

Now I’m off to repaint my toenails so that I don’t get made fun of anymore. 😛

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training and What Guys Really Notice About Girls

  1. Charlotte says:

    Wouldn’t think of letting myself go like that! Ahem! I tried that life water when I was there this afternoon…yaaa no not so much. Way to sweet for me. I really did want to like it tho.

Leave a Reply

