Friendship and Contra Dancing

It’s Saturday, it’s sunny, I’m making yummy coffee, and I get to see my good high school buddy for the first time in almost 2 years…It’s a good day. Sarah Hooley, one of my best friends in high school, is a Mennonite farm girl from Idaho. We were choir buddies in high school, traveled to Washington D.C. where she eventually returned to do an internship in peacebuilding, spent a week in Canada helping our other good friend, Bre, marry a wonderful German man, and used our honor cuts to skip class and go to The Gilbert House. She’s a sweet, hardworking woman who gets up with the sun to help on her families farm, loves fresh veggies, has a passion for mediation and peacebuilding, and can sing a mean alto line in any hymn. I’m excited because Sarah is in town for the weekend and I get to see her! We’re going contra dancing tonight. I’m not really sure exactly what contra dancing is, but Sarah enjoys it so it must be fun. As far as I can tell, it’s similar to square dancing. I guess I’ll know for sure after tonight!

Sarah and me

2 thoughts on “Friendship and Contra Dancing

  1. Charlotte Tracy says:

    Nice! Never heard of that either. Sounds like fun though. Somehow Mennonite and dancing doesn’t seem to go together. And to think we weren’t allowed to square dance in grade school. Never mind that I didn’t really want to and used being Mennonite as an excuse. Funny that.

  2. Whitney says:

    Times are achangin’ 🙂 And trust me, there was no danger of the vertical dance leading to a horizontal desire, as I’m sure the Mennonites were worried about…We danced with a different partner each time and they were usually old and/or sweaty.

Leave a Reply

