A New Healthy Habit

Ok, I’m going to stop making promises I can’t keep. I said I’d start updating my blog more often and, of course, I haven’t. And I said I’d take pictures of the Valentine’s cookiesΒ and cards I made and post them and well. . . I did take pictures of the cards I made, but I didn’t make cookies and I’m not going to post the pictures I did take because it’s March already. πŸ™‚ So, rather than making unrealistic promises, I’m just going to blog when I can.

Now that that’s out of the way. . . I bought this pilates/yoga DVD with resistance bands and I’m really liking it. I don’t need to lose weight but I want to build up my strength and flexibility, so this workout is perfect. It strengthens, tones, and improves flexibility. My first time trying it was quite entertaining. I quickly discovered that I am NOT very limber. The girl doing the demonstration was laying on her back with her feet up in the air at a 90 degree angle and I prepared myself to copy her pose. As I lifted my legs into the air, I noticed a problem. . .they stopped at about 75 degrees and they were definitely not straight. I should have been prepared for this little dilemma when I had to bend my knees to reach my toes during the warm-up stretches.Β πŸ™‚ However, not all of my pilates/yoga experience was negative. Each time I finish a workout session I come away feeling stronger and taller. I’ve noticed that it improves my posture quite a bit. The exercise require a straight back and shoulders held back, so I come away sitting and standing straighter. . . Oh! The best part of the workout DVD? I got it at TJMaxx for $10. πŸ™‚ Overall, I’d say it was a good purchase and hopefully it’ll be the start of a healthy habit that will keep me strong, flexible, and standing tall.

2 thoughts on “A New Healthy Habit

  1. Charlotte Tracy says:

    Finally! I was about to give it up when I thot. ok one more time. One of these days I’m starting something too. I love the way you bebop around. You certainly do stand tall…more ways than one.

Leave a Reply

