Remember Me?

So I haven’t updated my blog in awhile. . . okay, in about a month. Maybe longer, but I didn’t really want to count exactly how long it’s been since my last post ’cause it’s probably a really embarrasing amount of time. It’s not like I’ve been to busy to update my blog; I’ve actually had a lot of time on my hands lately. . . too much time. Since I’ve been back in Oregon I’ve haven’t done much more than hang out with friends, sleep in, and read. I’m not complaining. It was actually pretty nice . . . for the first two weeks. After awhile I started getting bored and feeling useless. I did manage to get myself a job as a barista at Java Crew (my dream job!) Unfortunately I don’t start working consistently until February, and even then I only work 18 hours a week. Who knew I’d be ready to go back to school so soon? Doing nothing is hard work!

During one of my many days with a blank to-do list, I decided to take a book and my journal and head to Starbucks because I needed to get out of the house. While sitting at the corner table by the window sipping my skinny cinnamon dulce latte, I began to wonder if maybe all this down time is really a blessing. God began to show me all the productive things I could do with my free time that I may never have a chance to do when life starts to speed up again. Just think … how many people have this much free time after an intense semester at FFI? Instead of filling my brain with all kinds of amazing information at Focus then coming home to fill it with even more info. from a new sememster, I have the opportunity to take time to go back over all my notes, reread all my books, and let all the valuable things I learned sink in a little deeper. Instead of reading romance novels to pass the time, I could be reading “Mere Christianity” by C.S. Lewis or “Search for Significance” by I-Can’t-Remember-Who-Right-Now. Now would be the perfect time to go through the Truth Project also.

My afternoon reflecting on life motivated me to make better use of my free time and to see it as a blessing. Hopefully, my enthusiasm for this time in my life will continue strong until school starts in the fall and life gets busy again. I think I’m going to start by reading “Mere Christianity.” I’llΒ keep youΒ updated withΒ the life-altering nuggets I gain from C.S. Lewis. . .

One thought on “Remember Me?

  1. G.A. Shelley says:

    It’s about time you get up and runn’in again. I really missed reading your blog…matter o’ fact I looked forward to it…so keep it up…see’ns how you have lots of time on your hands! (By your own admission) ;o) and besides I know you’ll have ALOT of future nuggets to give us….can’t wait!
    Love you XOXO

Leave a Reply

