It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

It’s the day after Thanksgiving and I can finally listen to Christmas music without feeling guilty about cheating Thanksgiving. Don’t get me wrong; I love Thanksgiving. Actually, I think Thanksgiving comes at just the right time because it gives us a chance to reflect on how blessed we are before creating the list of all the things we need (or just want) for Christmas. It’s kind of funny; one day we’re going around the table reciting the things we are thankful for and the next day we get up at a curse-inducing hour of the morning to brave the cold and crowds to buy the perfect gift.  Before I get a list of comments calling me a grinch or something, let me just say that I’m not saying Christmas presents are bad or anything. I’m not making a judgment on Thanksgiving or Christmas, I’m just observing a fact.

Anyways, all that to say, that if there were Thanksgiving carols I’d gladly listen to them all through the month of November and hold off on the Christmas songs until December. As it stands, there are no Thanksgiving carols and I can only listen to Christmas music for a short period of time, so I want to shove as much Christmas merriment into the month as I can. It’s not like I’m totally skipping over Thanksgiving; I eat turkey and pumpkin pie and count my blessings on the appropriate day. There are just so many good Christmas songs and by the time it’s acceptable to listen to them, they’re only around for about two weeks. What a waste of good music! So, I’m a closet Christmas music listener about midway through November, then I can come out, jingle bells ablazin’, the day after Thanksgiving. Feliz navidad!

2 thoughts on “It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

  1. G.A. Shelley says:

    Wow! a women after my own heart. I too am a closet Christmas music listener only I will go a step farther. I confess….I started in October already…I can’t help myself…one CD here and maybe another one later on….I’ve tried to stop but I just can’t help myself…OK, I truely didn’t want to stop. The music…it makes me….. feel……..so….very….goooood! (In other words “warm fuzzies”) Oh! I know, this is an addiction, but I also know there are alot more out than just moi! and………YOU all know who YOU are!!!!!
    Here’s to “JINGLE BELLS ABLAZIN’
    XOXOXOXOXO
    G.A. Shelley

Leave a Reply

