In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning

I love relaxing vacation days! No commitments, getting ready for the day at your leisure, snacking all day instead of eating real meals, listening to music ALL DAY LONG, and sleeping in. Although, I don’t think I was supposed to sleep in this morning because I got a phone call at 3:30 am, 8:30 am, and 9:30 am and a text message at 8:45 am. I’m trying to sleep here people! Despite the frequent wakeup calls, I did manage to stay snuggled under the covers until a reasonably late 10 am. . . Oh, and I really didn’t mind the phone calls. They were from 3 of my favorite people in the world: my boyfriend, my best friend, and my mom.

My favorite thing about a leisurely day off is probably listening to my playlist filled with Frank Sinatra and Michael Buble classics on repeat all day long. I’m a firm believer that life should have background music. . . You know, like in the movies when the girl is doing dishes to “Singing in the Rain” or some gal’s pining away for her guy and her friends decide to take her shopping to cheer her up and “Can’t Buy Me Love” is playing in the background. If it weren’t for the fact that I’d probably get institutionalized for insanity, I’d put speakers in my purse and play my own background music everywhere I go. However, because I’d prefer to make people believe I’m at least somewhat normal, I’ll stick to just listening to my itunes at home.

StarbucksAnother thing I love about having nothing to do is that it gives me time to go to Starbucks and just sit with a good book and a skinny cinnamon dulce latte. Speaking of which, caffeine is calling my name, so I’m gonna grab some homework and try to be productive. . . Um, I should probably think about which one I’m going to. I’ve been to the Starbucks in the Briargate Promenade every day this week, so maybe I’ll switch it up a bit so it doesn’t look like I’m addicted. . . ’cause I’m not. . . really, I could quit anytime I want. . . but I don’t have to prove myself to anyone, so I’m going to enjoy my latte without guilt. . . Just don’t tell anyone this is my 4th for the week.

Leave a Reply

